skip to main content skip to footer

Reviews

Blue Heron catered my wedding and I can not give this place enough stars! The food was amazing and my guests are still raving about it a week later! The brisket and apple cider pork were a huge hit. The service was top notch which was icing on the cake. I highly recommend them for your wedding needs!
Sydney Diss via google.com - Sep 7, 2021
Holy smokes! This place is AMAZING! I’ve visited roughly 10 times, and every single time it exceeds my expectations. The staff are friendly and wonderful, and the food is AWESOME! I recommend the lunch flight, because you get a salad, half a sandwich, a cup of soup, and a cookie for an extremely reasonable price. If you’re on the fen ... read more
Kathleen Conlon via google.com - Aug 31, 2021
Small menu, so you know they specialize and aren't microwaving your food like fast food places. Tasty. Known for their cookies too ... read more
R Fenby via google.com - Aug 28, 2021
Stopped in late morning for breakfast and were pleasantly surprised by the options both for bakery a
Stopped in late morning for breakfast and were pleasantly surprised by the options both for bakery and for cooked options. Tried the Farmer's Bowl and loved it. They also had to great soup choices for lunch, but we opted for breakfast. We need to go back for the lunch possibilities.
greg n via tripadvisor.com - Aug 19, 2021
Blue Heron Cafe is a gem! Staff is super friendly. Breakfast was outstanding. Brought home delicious muffins, bread and cinnamon rolls. A truly delightful place!
Alexis Krot Salamas via google.com - Aug 12, 2021
Stopped in for lunch on our way to Boyne Falls. Super friendly staff and the food was delicious. I h
Stopped in for lunch on our way to Boyne Falls. Super friendly staff and the food was delicious. I had the chicken salad and the others I was with had the lunch flight. We took a couple of loaves of bread and some donut holes to go for our girls weekend.
Christie V. via yelp.com - Aug 12, 2021
I appreciated the gluten free options on the menu although the menu was fairly limited in total. The
I appreciated the gluten free options on the menu although the menu was fairly limited in total. The dining room was fairly dark so the atmosphere wasn't the best. The food was quite good and so was the service.
Brian W. via yelp.com - Aug 12, 2021
Excellent place for breakfast! The homemade sausage patty’s were awesome. Also try the cinnamon rolls. Service was top notch. I highly recommend Blue Herron Cafe!
Brad David via google.com - Aug 11, 2021
Barb was our server and she was excellent!! The cafe doesn't look like much from the outdoors, but w
Barb was our server and she was excellent!! The cafe doesn't look like much from the outdoors, but we were impressed by the pastry selection and quality food we had for brunch! My lunch special was the best deal and tasted amazing. I even ended up ordered a loaf of their bread because my sandwich was to die for!!
Stephanie C. via yelp.com - Aug 11, 2021
Excellent food and very fresh. I had the duo lunch which included a sandwich, salad and soup. All ve
Excellent food and very fresh. I had the duo lunch which included a sandwich, salad and soup. All very good. We had blueberry muffin which was very fresh with LOTS of fresh blueberries!
Jennifer B. via yelp.com - Aug 7, 2021
Whether you're going north or south this is the place to stop for lunch. Big city quality for local area prices, the lunch flight sandwich, salad, & soup meal hit the spot for the whole family.
Kacy Anderson via google.com - Aug 4, 2021
Donuts were huge and "amazing!" ... read more
Rhonda Jenks via google.com - Jul 29, 2021
What a wonderful restaurant! Food and staff are top of the line.
therry colombo via google.com - Jul 27, 2021
Breakfast bowl was amazing and you can't go wrong on the pastry ... read more
Bigg O via google.com - Jul 24, 2021
Yum Yum. Breakfast and Lunch only ... read more
Michael Dimond via google.com - Jul 22, 2021
Best Gluten Free bread ever. Everything was tasty and very fresh, unique. Great local conversations.
Amy Smith via google.com - Jul 22, 2021
We stopped here for brunch, and enjoyed the experience. The facility is clean and well-maintained,;
We stopped here for brunch, and enjoyed the experience. The facility is clean and well-maintained,; with an upscale, revitalized, old-school downtown building ambiance. Our server, Barbara, was friendly and attentive. We enjoyed a soup & sandwich; as well as a bacon, egg & sourdough breakfast plate. Everything was fresh, tasty and we ... read more
RICART75 via tripadvisor.com - Jul 21, 2021
What a great little find! I was in town and had an hour to wait. So I decided to come eat brunch at
What a great little find! I was in town and had an hour to wait. So I decided to come eat brunch at the café The when you wasn’t very large, but what I got a hit fantastic and it was super speedy. I ended up taking some baked good to go, which were also fantastic.
Ajenan via tripadvisor.com - Jul 9, 2021
The Cherry 🍒 pie is out of this world! Call ahead and enjoy!! Don't forget to pickup some donuts and pastry on your way out!!
P Kitty via google.com - Jul 1, 2021
Very friendly staff and breakfast was perfect . I live in the area and will go again 👍👍 ... read more
Darryl Richarde via google.com - Jul 1, 2021
The Blue Heron is a northern Michigan treasure! Outstanding food made in-house with fresh, local ingredients. They catered my wedding and did an excellent job. All the guests talked about how much they enjoyed the food.
Cara Kuiper via google.com - Jun 26, 2021
Great coffee and a very nice breakfast. Real bread, I like this place a lot.
John Ivkovich via google.com - Jun 23, 2021
Stopped here for mid-week brunch and it was delightful. Service with a smile was super-fast and ever
Stopped here for mid-week brunch and it was delightful. Service with a smile was super-fast and everything hit just the right spot. The homemade baked goods case was oh so tempting, and we had to select one glazed donut to share for an “appetizer”! The booth seats are plain wood so not too comfy for lingering but I’m not knocking off ... read more
KMarmion via tripadvisor.com - Jun 8, 2021
Awesome food Great people, good times!
Vanessa Torey Vinson-Blue via google.com - May 28, 2021
Love this place.
Corey Waite via google.com - May 24, 2021
BEST FOOD AND STAFF!!
Paul Cousino via google.com - Apr 24, 2021
Great breakfast and aromatic coffe ☕ .
Fred Sharpsteen via google.com - Apr 20, 2021
this place was super cute, great service & the breakfast was delicious! highly recommend.
Amanda Mckenzie via google.com - Apr 17, 2021
Best food in Northern Michigan!!
Michael Tamialis via google.com - Apr 7, 2021
Really awesome little locally owned place. Great food which is locally sourced and a menu that changes frequently to keep up with what’s in season. Never been disappointed once. Wait staff is always hospitable and kind. Great place to stop for breakfast or lunch.
April Denison via google.com - Mar 13, 2021
Enjoy the donuts and have had a good breakfast a couple times. A little pricey, but willing to pay a little extra to support a locally owned small business.
Aaron Camper via google.com - Mar 8, 2021
The service is excellent, and the family of owners is very hospitable.
maddi farmer via google.com - Dec 2, 2020
Absolutely delish 😋 ... read more
Debra Stevens via google.com - Oct 20, 2020
My wife and stopped in on our way home from vacation. We were looking for breakfast or brunch, so I got on good old Google to see what I could find. What a great discovery! I had the farmers omelet and my wife had the breakfast breakfast. Both were excellent. They also have fresh baked goods, so we got some cookies, fritters and ... read more
Gregoire Bolduc via google.com - Oct 16, 2020
Saturday We stopped at the Cafe for lunch. We had the light flight. Delicious food, squash soup was really good, coffee and cookie. Perfect start to our color tour around Cadillac. Highly recommend stopping in.
D McG via google.com - Oct 11, 2020
Came here for breakfast and loved the options. Also lots of delicious bakery treats. Staff wore mask
Came here for breakfast and loved the options. Also lots of delicious bakery treats. Staff wore masks and sanitizer available to use at the front desk. Good space between most tables.
Shelby S. via yelp.com - Oct 9, 2020
Excellent!!! Best breakfast ever. Service was great too!!
Jean Benson via google.com - Oct 2, 2020
We loved it here and the food was delicious. Our server Mary was the best! We also got pastries whic
We loved it here and the food was delicious. Our server Mary was the best! We also got pastries which were awesome!
Linda B. via yelp.com - Oct 2, 2020
Their donuts are the best ... read more
Michelle Munn via google.com - Sep 26, 2020
Had the ham sandwich, was amazing. Good ingredients = good food ... read more
Travis VanEe via google.com - Aug 22, 2020
I was checking out the reviews to decide if we should to come here in a couple of days. I was unsure, until I read Coopers review. I’m for sure coming, now that I read they have gluten free Democrat’s. Lol.
C L via google.com - Aug 20, 2020
Food was excellent. Always super excited to see a restaurant with GFO. The Gluten free BLT sandwich was incredible.
Marcie Melton via google.com - Aug 13, 2020
The BLT sandwich was amazing, the coffee is good and waitstaff was very attentive.
Tiffany Stone via google.com - Aug 13, 2020
Excellent breakfast!
Excellent breakfast! We had the eggs, ham and skillet potatoes. The sourdough toast and blueberry jelly was outstanding! Service was great and the folks very friendly. We would definitely return!
Roger E via tripadvisor.com - Aug 8, 2020
Went in for breakfast, it was amazing! And the lentil soup is even better. The workers were also so kind and helpful.
Reem M via google.com - Jul 23, 2020
needs to open a 7am.
George Hubbard via google.com - Jul 22, 2020
I loved the asparagus bowl.
Maya McCarthy via google.com - Jul 3, 2020
Fantastic food!
Melissa Syerson via google.com - Jun 11, 2020
Loved our meal from yesterday, shrimp risotto. The freshly baked choc chip cookies melted in our m
Loved our meal from yesterday, shrimp risotto. The freshly baked choc chip cookies melted in our mouths. We just had the cabbage and corned beef soup for lunch today and it was delicious and very generous with the corned beef. Love your cafe!
Vivian DeVivo via facebook.com - May 14, 2020
My husband and I had the Cuban pork, potatoes etc. it was incredibly delicious!Great job Blue Hero
My husband and I had the Cuban pork, potatoes etc. it was incredibly delicious! Great job Blue Heron!
Teri Smith Meyering via facebook.com - Apr 23, 2020
We’ve been supporting local restaurants during the close down and absolutely love what Blue Heron h
We’ve been supporting local restaurants during the close down and absolutely love what Blue Heron has been doing. The lasagna last week was amazing. The Alfredo this week was top notch! And the brownie! When they say generous portions they mean it. This was dinner for four tonight and will be lunch for four tomorrow. Thanks for ... read more
Dave Johnson via facebook.com - Apr 16, 2020
Blue Heron is my husbands favorite place to go. He likes their donuts. Also their breakfast meals.
Blue Heron is my husbands favorite place to go. He likes their donuts. Also their breakfast meals. The servers are all so friendly. Everyone coming there is very welcome! 🙂🙂🙂 ... read more
Cindy Buning via facebook.com - Apr 11, 2020
Thanks for the delivery to my dad of the soup and bread on his birthday. He said everything was wo
Thanks for the delivery to my dad of the soup and bread on his birthday. He said everything was wonderful.
Kathy Elliott via facebook.com - Apr 8, 2020
Blue Heron is offering a sweet dinner deal while we are all sheltered in place. We got the lasagna m
Blue Heron is offering a sweet dinner deal while we are all sheltered in place. We got the lasagna meal which came with a salad, half a loaf of fresh bread, and cookies. The meal was supposedly for four but fed my family for dinner and lunch the next day! The lasagna was a very traditional lasagna. While yummy, I wished there was mor ... read more
Katy K. via yelp.com - Apr 5, 2020
Take out meals from Blue Heron Cafe are available during this time of social distancing. The pot roa
Take out meals from Blue Heron Cafe are available during this time of social distancing. The pot roast & lasagne meals we purchased this week were excellent & a win/win to support one of our favorite restaurants & be able to have a great meal in our home. Please consider supporting Brian & Julie Williams too!
Pam A. via yelp.com - Apr 3, 2020
friendly service, excellent food all the time
friendly service, excellent food all the time ... read more
Christy Kearns via facebook.com - Mar 28, 2020
Take out dinner tonight was so good!! Delicious salad (nature lover's is always good), but that was
Take out dinner tonight was so good!! Delicious salad (nature lover's is always good), but that was excellent meatloaf and potatoes! Both kids devoted it!! ❤ ... read more
Alicia Helsel via facebook.com - Mar 25, 2020
LOVE! LOVE! LOVE! Great food! Cozy atmosphere! Coffee lovers haven! Convenient location! Best of all . . . super owners! If you haven't been here???? You're missin' out! Did I mention that I love this place!
Beth Thompson via google.com - Mar 20, 2020
Food and service were both great! I would highly recommend this place. The only reason I'm not givin
Food and service were both great! I would highly recommend this place. The only reason I'm not giving 4 stars is because my infant needed a diaper change and there is no changing table in the restroom. As a parent, this would make a huge difference!
Tiffany B. via yelp.com - Mar 7, 2020
Cozy restaurant with a nice selection of donuts.
Bluebird Flowers via google.com - Feb 25, 2020
Friendly, great service!
Donald Akers via google.com - Feb 17, 2020
Such a cute place to stop for a bite. The coffee was delicious and the staff was super friendly. Will definitely return on your way up to TC in the future.
Erica Wisdom via google.com - Feb 15, 2020
Service was outstanding and the Chicken Pesto sandwich is delicious!!! Lovely place to have lunch and I highly recommend it.
Sean Cox via google.com - Feb 10, 2020
Delicious food. I had the lunch combination which is soup, a small salad and half a sandwich. I had Thai peanut soup, a small very fresh salad and a grilled sourdough chicken pesto feta sandwich. My partner had a BLT on deliciously homemade grilled bread. I had a oatmeal raisin cookie. He had a grilled cinnamon roll with frosting and ... read more
Marla Beougher via google.com - Feb 5, 2020
GF bread, muffins and cookies. The chocolate chip cookies were great!
Carey Aristidou via google.com - Feb 2, 2020
Wonderful gluten free options and great service!!
Chris Hasler via google.com - Feb 2, 2020
small little coffee shop the donuts are amazing ... read more
R Smith via google.com - Jan 19, 2020
Excellent food! Awesome bakery ... read more
Cory Nickoloff via google.com - Jan 19, 2020
Outstanding healthy options with great baked goods. Plan a long brunch and bring someone to share t
Outstanding healthy options with great baked goods. Plan a long brunch and bring someone to share this experience with.
Jason Kvasnak via facebook.com - Jan 15, 2020
Outstanding healthy options with great baked goods. Plan a long brunch and bring someone to share this experience with.
Jason Kvasnak via google.com - Jan 15, 2020
Want To Tell Us About Your Experience?
GoogleMyBusinessFoursquareFacebookYelpZomatoTwitterTrip AdvisorYouTubeGrouponInstagramOpen TablePinterestZagatFlickrLinkedInTumblrTheKnotWeddingWire